This small Romanesque architectural gem stands on the shore of lake Mezzola. The little oratory in its picturesque natural setting can be reached by boat from Scorico, Dascio and Novate Mezzola. The small church was built on the site where the relics of Fedele, martyred in about 303 AD, were found. In around the year 1000 this tiny church was probably an important rural and baptismal church, in that everyone who lived in and around Samolaco and Mezzola was baptised at the little church of San Fedele. There is no mention of it in the Dark Ages or any record of its existence. Even Giovio does not mention it in his description of lake Como in the 16th century. In later times, the church was ravaged more than once: the Spaniards turned it into a fort, then it was used as a shelter for animals and, more recently, the stone-cutters at the nearby granite quarry used it as a depot and kitchen. In 1905 San Fedele (also known as San Fedelino) was taken over by the parish church of Novate Mezzola, which promised to carry out restoration work. The whole of the interior was decorated with frescoes and those in the apse depicting Christ the Almighty flanked by two angels in adoration (11th century) can still be seen.